Go Back   Techwatch Support Forums: Digital & Satellite TV, FTA, Cable, Computers, Mobile Phones, Apple and General Tech Forums > Tech Forums > General Forum > Site Announcements & Feedback



Site Announcements & Feedback Announcements from Tech Watch, and the place for suggestions and general feedback.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-02-12, 06:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
leeds6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 264
Thanks: 5
Thanked 50 Times in 47 Posts
Default filestore

in the last few days when connecting to tech watch and not just on my pc i end up on a filestore page whatever that is and get asked to do a quiz to win a 47inch tv or an ipad 2 is this a techwatch ad or is something weird going on


forgot to add i dont use direct link i just google techwatch then click on forums and i'm usually in but now i have to get past this irritating page

http://file2store.info/download.php?id=E9A1A0A0

the link is above just did it to me again this time in firefox

Last edited by leeds6; 01-02-12 at 06:48 PM.
leeds6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-12, 07:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
andyjill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 890
Thanks: 155
Thanked 366 Times in 278 Posts
Default Re: filestore

Same here with google, started yesterday with me.
andyjill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-12, 09:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Administrator
 
brian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Inverness, Scotland
Posts: 3,801
Thanks: 286
Thanked 1,697 Times in 595 Posts
Default Re: filestore

If you click on a link on Google to a site you know, and end up on a completely different one, almost certainly malware.

Got that showing on my laptop periodically so have downloaded and installed Malwarebytes and am running a scan now.
__________________
Sky+, 1m motorised dish, Vu+ Duo HD PVR, Panasonic 42" G15 Plasma HDTV, Playstation 2 + 3, Not enough time...
brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-12, 09:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
leeds6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 264
Thanks: 5
Thanked 50 Times in 47 Posts
Default Re: filestore

seems to be a google thing
leeds6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-12, 09:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Administrator
 
brian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Inverness, Scotland
Posts: 3,801
Thanks: 286
Thanked 1,697 Times in 595 Posts
Default Re: filestore

Quote:
Originally Posted by leeds6 View Post
seems to be a google thing
No, it looks like adware - it looks very much like the same thing that automatically posts to Facebook accounts after it infects users.

Google will not send you to an unrelated site unless you're clicking on sponsored links.
__________________
Sky+, 1m motorised dish, Vu+ Duo HD PVR, Panasonic 42" G15 Plasma HDTV, Playstation 2 + 3, Not enough time...
brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-12, 12:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
leeds6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 264
Thanks: 5
Thanked 50 Times in 47 Posts
Default Re: filestore

i only said that because when i use yahoo it dosent happen when i use google in ie i go to a filestore page not all the time just sometimes and if i use google in firefox i go to a dollaraid page which wants me to disable addblock or noscript also happens at work not just at home ,on my pc i have run malaware bytes spybot and eset they show nothing .The only site where i get this is techwatch no other site i go to does this its very odd
leeds6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-12, 02:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
andyjill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 890
Thanks: 155
Thanked 366 Times in 278 Posts
Default Re: filestore

Quote:
Originally Posted by leeds6 View Post
i only said that because when i use yahoo it dosent happen when i use google in ie i go to a filestore page not all the time just sometimes and if i use google in firefox i go to a dollaraid page which wants me to disable addblock or noscript also happens at work not just at home ,on my pc i have run malaware bytes spybot and eset they show nothing .The only site where i get this is techwatch no other site i go to does this its very odd
Still the same with me, even after Iv'e ran malwarebytes.
andyjill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-12, 04:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
andyjill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 890
Thanks: 155
Thanked 366 Times in 278 Posts
Default Re: filestore

I can come into tw with no problems now.
andyjill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-12, 09:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
leeds6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 264
Thanks: 5
Thanked 50 Times in 47 Posts
Default Re: filestore

yep back to normal
leeds6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.