Technology Forums: FTA, Satellite, Cable, Home Media, Hardware & Computers
|  Home   |  Forums   |  News   |  Blog   |  

Go Back   Techwatch: Satellite TV forums, FTA, Cable, Hardware, & Tech forums > UK Cable > Cable boxes > DBox


 

Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

DBox Dbox and Dbox 2 technical help and support - Sagem Dbox, Nokia Dbox, D-Box, Dreambox-C + Linux boxes etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-05-08, 08:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Virgin selling on ebay?

So i recently bought a coaxial cable on ebay. But just noticed right there that the paypal account i paid to was "online.service@virgin.net".
Is this just Virgin selling stuff, or are they trying to catch out dbox users?

I know it sounds paranoid, but it's just strange
Mappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-08, 08:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
kerrywez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,406
Thanks: 261
Thanked 145 Times in 140 Posts
Send a message via MSN to kerrywez
Default Re: Virgin selling on ebay?

It looks like me to be just an email address @virgin.net, nothing to do with Virgin apart from it being an email address of someone using virgin.net. It would be the same as hotmail.com or hotmail.co.uk.

I don't think you have very much t be worried about mate.

Very best regards Wez
__________________
Dreambox 7025, 250HDD, Dreambox 500s, 110 X 90Cm Hirschmann on Clarketech rotor, 1.2 Mtr. Channel Master on ground mount and 18 Ins. Super Jack and Super Jack V-Box. Humax Foxsat Freesat HD box.
kerrywez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-08, 10:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Virgin selling on ebay?

yeah that crossed my mind, but it's "online.service@virgin.net" leading me to believe it's official
Mappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-08, 09:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
Administrator
 
brian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Inverness, Scotland
Posts: 1,747
Thanks: 23
Thanked 140 Times in 64 Posts
Default Re: Virgin selling on ebay?

Sounds potentially dodgy when someone uses an email address that is intended to look like an official third party contact.
brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-08, 02:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
kerrywez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,406
Thanks: 261
Thanked 145 Times in 140 Posts
Send a message via MSN to kerrywez
Default Re: Virgin selling on ebay?

The way I look at it is they are using the online.service bit of the address to look like it is virgin selling off gear, but why would virgin want to sell their gear? I should think that there is no need to be worried about it being virgin media, just someone trying to gain more sales from looking official.

Very best regards Wez
__________________
Dreambox 7025, 250HDD, Dreambox 500s, 110 X 90Cm Hirschmann on Clarketech rotor, 1.2 Mtr. Channel Master on ground mount and 18 Ins. Super Jack and Super Jack V-Box. Humax Foxsat Freesat HD box.
kerrywez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-08, 03:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Technology Forums
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 184
Thanks: 6
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Default Re: Virgin selling on ebay?

my @ is a telepest and 16 possible - I could call myself RichardBranson@ if I felt like using one of the spares - does that make me him?!
jsnaddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-08, 03:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Technology Forums
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 184
Thanks: 6
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Default Re: Virgin selling on ebay?

We all get notifications of official notice of Nationwide Building Scociety changing security or so and need to give details - when don't even bank with them - is the nationwide.fgsfd.de any more probable?
jsnaddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Online vendors selling camcorders on ebay GPhillips Digital Cameras 3 02-10-07 07:43 AM
Virgin Media suitor may axe Branson link BGonaSTICK Satellite News 1 10-07-07 09:34 PM
BSkyB rejects Virgin Media claims BGonaSTICK Satellite News 0 04-07-07 02:17 PM
Virgin One launch planned BGonaSTICK Terrestrial Television 0 11-06-07 12:15 PM
Selling a desktop on ebay mohdsoft PC Hardware 1 18-03-06 02:38 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0 ©2008, Crawlability, Inc.