Go Back   Techwatch Support Forums: Digital & Satellite TV, FTA, Cable, Computers, Mobile Phones, Apple and General Tech Forums > Tech Forums > Satellite TV > Satellite Receivers > Dreambox



Dreambox For satellite Dreambox versions, including 7000, 7020, 7025, 8000, 5620, 500, 600 and 800.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 18-07-08, 05:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 114
Thanks: 9
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default Anyone know anything about DreamBoxShop?

Does anyone know anything about the online dealer DreamBoxShop? Their website (at time of writing) claims they have 95 Dreambox 8000s in stock, and they're selling them at £405! Can this possibly be true? Somehow it doesn't seem likely to me; just wondered if anyone knew otherwise.

Last edited by Davei; 18-07-08 at 05:08 PM. Reason: Punctuation
Davei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-08, 07:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Jimdefruit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,858
Thanks: 20
Thanked 221 Times in 187 Posts
Default Re: Anyone know anything about DreamBoxShop?

They are the main distributors in the UK. They are reliable but they dont have any Dreambox 8000s. Are you confusing it with the 800?
__________________
Dreambox 800 HD; Dreambox 7000s + VBox + Channel Master 1.2 with 36v actuator CM120 feedhorn and Invacom .3 LNB
Skystar 2 PCI card with links to my Dreamboxes

If you like what you see here, tell your friends.
Jimdefruit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-08, 11:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 114
Thanks: 9
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default Re: Anyone know anything about DreamBoxShop?

No, it's not the 800. This DreamBoxShop doesn't seem to be the same one that I'm familiar with as the main UK distributor (it's a .org rather than a .co.uk). I hesitated initially to include the relevant URL, but here it is:

_http://www.dreamboxshop.org/dreambox-8000-dm-8000-cable-satellite-receiver-p-6.html

Last edited by Davei; 21-07-08 at 11:27 AM.
Davei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-08, 12:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Jimdefruit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,858
Thanks: 20
Thanked 221 Times in 187 Posts
Default Re: Anyone know anything about DreamBoxShop?

That is an interesting one Davie. The listing is all based on future tense and the specs have been changing quite frequently since the advert was produced in April 2008. I note that the model they say they have in stock is cable tv whereas the Dreambox 8000 is a multi tuner model which can be satellite/cable/terrestrial

The fact that they say thebox has been tested by hundreds over the last 12 months means to me that the whole thing is a scam. It may have been tested by a few in Germany for a short while but production has not been sufficient for hundreds to have been sent out.

There was a company on the continent who was selling Dreambox 8000s about 18 months ago and taking money for delivery in two weeks. I think this one may be very similar.

The only solution would be to telephone Dreamboxshop in the UK to confirm if this is real or not. The Camberley company is genuine.
__________________
Dreambox 800 HD; Dreambox 7000s + VBox + Channel Master 1.2 with 36v actuator CM120 feedhorn and Invacom .3 LNB
Skystar 2 PCI card with links to my Dreamboxes

If you like what you see here, tell your friends.
Jimdefruit is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jimdefruit For This Useful Post:
Davei (21-07-08)
Old 21-07-08, 01:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
kegnkiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 408
Thanks: 4
Thanked 119 Times in 93 Posts
Default Re: Anyone know anything about DreamBoxShop?

It does not look like these new photo's I found of the 8000 on other forums, the photos I have look based on 800hd in styling using the new dream logo.

ki
Attached Files
File Type: rar Dreambox_8000(2).rar (1.24 MB, 29 views)
__________________
DM800HD, TM9100, TM1500, EL777, Lemon 020s, Comag SL65/12. 1m funke, 2100a Motor

Last edited by kegnkiwi; 21-07-08 at 02:35 PM.
kegnkiwi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-08, 01:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Denny, Falkirk, Latitude: 56.020° Longitude: -3.903°
Posts: 77
Thanks: 20
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Default Re: Anyone know anything about DreamBoxShop?

I think it could be a scam after looking at the WHOIS record for that domain; it just doesn't sit right with me..

Full info: http://pir.org/index.php?mode=whois&...&Submit=Search

Admin Name: ge guilin
Admin Street1: 224 S LILMOR ST BALTIMORE MD
Admin Street2:
Admin Street3:
Admin City: Batlimore
Admin State/Province:
Admin Postal Code: 21223
Admin Country: US
Admin Phone: +1.4109053577
Admin Phone Ext.:
Admin FAX:
Admin FAX Ext.:
Admin Email: batteryexporter@gmail.com


aldouk is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to aldouk For This Useful Post:
Davei (21-07-08)
Old 21-07-08, 02:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 114
Thanks: 9
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default Re: Anyone know anything about DreamBoxShop?

Yes, it does all look rather suspicious - which is why I raised the question in the first place.
Davei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-08, 11:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Dodgy Geezer
 
BGonaSTICK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 9,718
Thanks: 3
Thanked 163 Times in 57 Posts
Default Re: Anyone know anything about DreamBoxShop?

Complete nonsense - avoid like the plague.

The full-scale beta testing program kicks off in earnest in the next few weeks.
__________________
Dreambox 7000, Skystar2 PCI, Skystar USB, Fibo 90cm on Moteck SG2100, Triax TD110 multi-LNB. Sky + ART cards. 45.0°E - 58.0°W
BGonaSTICK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-08, 11:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Anyone know anything about DreamBoxShop?

so will we all be beta testers?

I hope it does come out as promised. I have been to the camberley store and they are defo genuine. Dreambox have set the price around £650. That site looks like a scam
kpupdated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-08, 12:42 AM   #10 (permalink)
Dodgy Geezer
 
BGonaSTICK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 9,718
Thanks: 3
Thanked 163 Times in 57 Posts
Default Re: Anyone know anything about DreamBoxShop?

It is... I just bought one and they stole my money!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dreamboxshop_order.jpg (216.2 KB, 138 views)
__________________
Dreambox 7000, Skystar2 PCI, Skystar USB, Fibo 90cm on Moteck SG2100, Triax TD110 multi-LNB. Sky + ART cards. 45.0°E - 58.0°W
BGonaSTICK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.