Go Back   Techwatch Support Forums: Digital & Satellite TV, FTA, Cable, Computers, Mobile Phones, Apple and General Tech Forums > Tech Forums > General Forum > Site Announcements & Feedback



Site Announcements & Feedback Announcements from Tech Watch, and the place for suggestions and general feedback.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 25-06-09, 11:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Cost efficient muppet
 
waqasahmed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: W. Yorkshire TW area
Posts: 4,508
Thanks: 2,370
Thanked 935 Times in 690 Posts
Default W0lu spammers?

I may be wrong but I suspect three people to be promoting this site. I have read stuff like I purchased a camera from wolu.co.uk and when I type in wolu in to google, the site doesnt even appear there. Also I used my unscientific method but reliable method of "seeing" how many people actually use them.WOT(Web of Trust) and McAfee siteadvisor give them a grey ring/baloon which suggests they are a really new site

The people saying that have "used" them seem to be people with really low posts. Apologies if Im wrong, but it does seem that the person with the username wolu is getting other people to do the "spamming" for them to try and boost confidence in their shop

Again, sorry if Im wrong, but only new members recommend this shop. I would trust someone with a higher post count, but sorry I cant trust any of the new members

These people may/may not be spamming, but if they are indeed spamming, then I suppose its for the best that this issue has been raised.

Im sorry if this is meant to be in the lounge section instead

Last edited by waqasahmed; 26-06-09 at 12:01 AM.
waqasahmed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-09, 12:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Cable Muppet
 
g80878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bristol TW / Vermin
Posts: 1,669
Thanks: 558
Thanked 726 Times in 575 Posts
Default re: W0lu spammers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by waqasahmed View Post
I may be wrong but I suspect three people to be promoting this site. I have read stuff like I purchased a camera from wolu.co.uk and when I type in wolu in to google, the site doesnt even appear there. Also I used my unscientific method but reliable method of "seeing" how many people actually use them.WOT(Web of Trust) and McAfee siteadvisor give them a grey ring/baloon which suggests they are a really new site

The people saying that have "used" them seem to be people with really low posts. Apologies if Im wrong, but it does seem that the person with the username w0lu is getting other people to do the "spamming" for them to try and boost confidence in their shop

Again, sorry if Im wrong, but only new members recommend this shop. I would trust someone with a higher post count, but sorry I cant trust any of the new members

These people may/may not be spamming, but if they are indeed spamming, then I suppose its for the best that this issue has been raised.

Im sorry if this is meant to be in the lounge section instead
The forum member known as w0lu has already had several links to his " would be" site removed by our mods , who try to save us from things like this , as you said it's only members with such a low post count verifying for the site. Wouldn't trust him myself

Last edited by Robbo; 26-06-09 at 12:53 AM.
g80878 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to g80878 For This Useful Post:
waqasahmed (26-06-09)
Old 26-06-09, 12:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Satellite mad
 
Robbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Kent
Posts: 9,228
Thanks: 93
Thanked 1,967 Times in 1,590 Posts
Default re: W0lu spammers?

what like alientask and jimcarter?, they're history, both w*lu aliases.
__________________
القمر الصناعي هو أفضل
TM600 linux,TM6800HD,TM5200,TM1000,TM2200 motor, Triax TD110 dish. Electronics Engineer and satellite installer.MBC Satellites
Robbo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Robbo For This Useful Post:
waqasahmed (26-06-09)
Old 26-06-09, 09:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
manic midlander retired mod
 
Analoguesat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Scottish Borders
Posts: 11,668
Thanks: 21
Thanked 1,334 Times in 985 Posts
Default Re: W0lu spammers?

I banned member wolu a couple of days ago after he kept trying to sneak live links to his site into his posts. (Obviously doesnt know much about linking back though as the links actually linked back to his forum profile )
__________________
Basic forum rules for both satellite & cable:

no keys
no patches
no offering or asking for card shares

Anyone pm'ing me for details of card sharing or anything to do with hacking cable will be banned immediately

Analogue forever!!
Analoguesat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-09, 10:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
MorriSoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Midlands - Pure n*l
Posts: 1,903
Thanks: 121
Thanked 365 Times in 319 Posts
Default Re: W0lu spammers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Analoguesat View Post
I banned member wolu a couple of days ago after he kept trying to sneak live links to his site into his posts. (Obviously doesnt know much about linking back though as the links actually linked back to his forum profile )
Rofl.

Talk about lame!
__________________
All posts are of a hypothetical nature..
MorriSoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-09, 09:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Stella Artois
 
50pounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Teesside
Posts: 930
Thanks: 106
Thanked 151 Times in 116 Posts
Default Re: W0lu spammers?

Yea any site i see on any forum i tend to do a goolge search on the site first see if it aint a bad one i have a website my self but i do not promote it on this forum years ago when i did it i use to for people to download tools to unlock there mobiles to be honest i see lots of newbie members posting links to websites from diff forums and some are porn links i think these people should be Banned from internet access my self.. as kids come on forum chat about footy and then someone gives them a link claiming to be a footie site and wham women and men all naked! shocking my kids have locks on there comps! but some parents aint as computer minded as some of us
50pounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-09, 04:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Cost efficient muppet
 
waqasahmed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: W. Yorkshire TW area
Posts: 4,508
Thanks: 2,370
Thanked 935 Times in 690 Posts
Default Re: W0lu spammers?

bryan tyler -spammer. Can we have a sticky at the top of this section to report spammers?
waqasahmed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-09, 06:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
manic midlander retired mod
 
Analoguesat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Scottish Borders
Posts: 11,668
Thanks: 21
Thanked 1,334 Times in 985 Posts
Default Re: W0lu spammers?

No need just click on the red triangle "report post" in the bottom left of every post

That flags up a warning in the staff area and the mods can deal with it
__________________
Basic forum rules for both satellite & cable:

no keys
no patches
no offering or asking for card shares

Anyone pm'ing me for details of card sharing or anything to do with hacking cable will be banned immediately

Analogue forever!!
Analoguesat is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Analoguesat For This Useful Post:
waqasahmed (02-07-09)
Old 02-07-09, 06:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Cost efficient muppet
 
waqasahmed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: W. Yorkshire TW area
Posts: 4,508
Thanks: 2,370
Thanked 935 Times in 690 Posts
Default Re: W0lu spammers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Analoguesat View Post
No need just click on the red triangle "report post" in the bottom left of every post

That flags up a warning in the staff area and the mods can deal with it
Hmm.. Only saw that now. Thanks
waqasahmed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-09, 12:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Stella Artois
 
50pounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Teesside
Posts: 930
Thanks: 106
Thanked 151 Times in 116 Posts
Default Re: W0lu spammers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by waqasahmed View Post
Hmm.. Only saw that now. Thanks
Hehe been there all the time mate its class when you learn something new
50pounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TechWatch hacked yesterday by Russian spammers Internet News Internet 0 07-08-08 04:30 PM
Spammers skyman114 Site Announcements & Feedback 7 18-06-08 08:10 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.