Go Back   Techwatch Support Forums: Digital & Satellite TV, FTA, Cable, Computers, Mobile Phones, Apple and General Tech Forums > Tech Forums > General Forum > The Lounge



The Lounge Talk about things other than Gadgets. Just keep it clean and legal.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 29-07-09, 10:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Technology Forums
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 320
Thanks: 26
Thanked 56 Times in 34 Posts
Default Is this fake or wot?

Hi guys i trying to buy something online and the online place that i found the item i need is here:
Yell Electric: The UK's Hottest Online Electrical Retailer

But the problem is that i registered my self there and added the item to basket it wont let me pay.
I tried to call the number where it says contact us and number says invalid, send an email to them havent heard nothing from them.
What could it be?
Any advice please thanks
badboy_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-09, 10:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Cost efficient muppet
 
waqasahmed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: W. Yorkshire TW area
Posts: 4,510
Thanks: 2,372
Thanked 935 Times in 690 Posts
Default Re: Is this fake or wot?

Reckon its fake then. They're probably just wanting the customers to come in as they know that the customers will probably look for a contact number and an address, but most dont bother to contact the company

Or they might just be having some communication problems as your transaction was blocked
__________________
Sat set up:
Openmedia 500CS
Sky mini dish
1m orbital+dodgy Motek motor
TG585 v7 bridged modem
DIR-615 D2 DD-WRT router
waqasahmed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-09, 10:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
ant16151189's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East London
Posts: 1,208
Thanks: 751
Thanked 275 Times in 217 Posts
Default Re: Is this fake or wot?

Quote:
Originally Posted by badboy_uk View Post
Hi guys i trying to buy something online and the online place that i found the item i need is here:
Yell Electric: The UK's Hottest Online Electrical Retailer

But the problem is that i registered my self there and added the item to basket it wont let me pay.
I tried to call the number where it says contact us and number says invalid, send an email to them havent heard nothing from them.
What could it be?
Any advice please thanks
just tried calling the number, and it goes number error.

i would stay well clear mate, any genuine site wouldn't have a dodgy number lol
ant16151189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-09, 10:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
ant16151189's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East London
Posts: 1,208
Thanks: 751
Thanked 275 Times in 217 Posts
Default Re: Is this fake or wot?

just done a who is check on the website

have a look


Domain name: YELLELECTRIC.COM
Created on: 2008-08-05
Updated on: 2008-08-07
Expires on: 2010-08-05
Registrant Name: HUB MANAGEMENT LTD
Contact: Hub Management Ltd
Registrant Address: Link House, 8, Finch Road, Douglas
Registrant City: Isle Of Man
Registrant Postal Code: IM1 2PT
Registrant Country: GB
Administrative Contact Organization: Namesco Limited
Administrative Contact Name: Domain Administrator
Administrative Contact Address: Acton House, Perdiswell Park
Administrative Contact City: Worcester
Administrative Contact Postal Code: WR3 7GD
Administrative Contact Country: GB
Administrative Contact Email: transfers-auth@names.co.uk
Administrative Contact Tel: +44 845 3633630
Technical Contact Organization: Namesco Limited
Technical Contact Name:
Technical Contact Address: Acton House, Perdiswell Park
Technical Contact City: Worcester
Technical Contact Postal Code: WR3 7GD
Technical Contact Country: GB
Technical Contact Email: register.it@names.co.uk
Technical Contact Phone: +44 845 3633630
Technical Contact Fax: +44 845 363 3631
Primary Name Server Hostname: NS.RACKSPACE.COM
Secondary Name Server Hostname: NS2.RACKSPACE.COM
ant16151189 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ant16151189 For This Useful Post:
badboy_uk (29-07-09)
Old 29-07-09, 10:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Technology Forums
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 320
Thanks: 26
Thanked 56 Times in 34 Posts
Default Re: Is this fake or wot?

thnx man it look like it hasnt been updated in ages lol wtf?

Last edited by badboy_uk; 29-07-09 at 10:43 PM.
badboy_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-09, 10:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
ant16151189's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East London
Posts: 1,208
Thanks: 751
Thanked 275 Times in 217 Posts
Default Re: Is this fake or wot?

Quote:
Originally Posted by badboy_uk View Post
yep exactly is says number not falid
in future do a check on the website address you can do this at

Whois.net

good for looking for dodgy websites check their registered address make sure it matches with one provided on website.

thanks
ant16151189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-09, 10:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Technology Forums
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 320
Thanks: 26
Thanked 56 Times in 34 Posts
Default Re: Is this fake or wot?

so does that look fake to u then?
Thanks
badboy_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-09, 10:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
ant16151189's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East London
Posts: 1,208
Thanks: 751
Thanked 275 Times in 217 Posts
Default Re: Is this fake or wot?

Quote:
Originally Posted by badboy_uk View Post
so does that look fake to u then?
Thanks
well as you can see the person who created website put the registered address as isle of man, and he put the number as 0845 something just checked that on saynoto0845.com and found it was a number for website domain company called namsco lol. and basically yea everything is dodgy addresses dont match and numbers are not correct.
ant16151189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-09, 10:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Technology Forums
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 320
Thanks: 26
Thanked 56 Times in 34 Posts
Default Re: Is this fake or wot?

thnx mate no wonder why the stuff is so cheap there doggy fookers
badboy_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-09, 10:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
ant16151189's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East London
Posts: 1,208
Thanks: 751
Thanked 275 Times in 217 Posts
Default Re: Is this fake or wot?

yea i hate scammers they are rite ****ers.
ant16151189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fake antivirus on the rise Computer News PC Hardware 0 14-04-09 04:30 PM
R4 is it fake? leahratcliffe Nintendo 10 16-12-08 12:19 AM
fake bk ?? tommyguntattoos Cable TV Chat 5 08-12-08 09:43 PM
Fake IRD and BK? safe-cracker Cable TV Chat 12 12-10-08 04:56 PM
Fake pop ups fool users Internet News Internet 1 09-10-08 03:08 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.