8 way lnb switch

Discussion in 'Satellite TV' started by Analoguesat, Jan 13, 2007.

  1. Analoguesat

    Analoguesat manic midlander retired mod

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    9,464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    badly paid school computer technician
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    Anyone got any suggestions for an 8 way lnb switch known to work with Dreamboxes. With the spring coming thoughts have turned to putting more lnb's on the dishes & generally revamping the installation - especially the 1m dish on 16E which has started sagging badly in all the gales!

    :nope: :D
     
  2. nanochickin

    nanochickin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,025
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got an IDTE 8 way switch Ebay Item number 190060511866. :D

    It uses DISEqC 1.1 or 1.2 Protocol so it should work. When i last asked Stick about them he seemed to think it would work with the Dreambox although he wasn't sure about it working with my TMS 1500 CI+ :eek:

    I've not tested it yet on my installation as i have only just managed to get the other lnbs put onto the dishes this afternoon and i have still to wire them in. I should know tomorrow if it doesn't rain :righton:
     
  3. BGonaSTICK

    BGonaSTICK Dodgy Geezer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    9,036
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brighton
    As far as I'm aware, you have to go via an uncommitted switch first (i.e.closest to the receiver) and then onto standard committed 4-way switches (closest to the dish). I can only assume that the switch Nano has is a combination of the two internally.

    Search the forum for 'uncommitted' - you'll find some info I posted a while back.
     
  4. nanochickin

    nanochickin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,025
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is whats on the switch (GOTO nn SWITCH S. 168)

    Input 1:-Commited A Uncomitted B POS A OPT A
    Input 2:-Commited B Uncomitted A POS B OPT A
    Input 3:-Commited C Uncomitted A POS A OPT B
    Input 4:-Commited D Uncomitted A POS B OPT B
    Input 5:-Commited A Uncomitted B
    Input 6:-Commited B Uncomitted B
    Input 7:-Commited C Uncomitted B
    Input 8:-Commited D Uncomitted B
    Output 950-2300 MHz

    Dont know if this helps :?
     
  5. Analoguesat

    Analoguesat manic midlander retired mod

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    9,464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    badly paid school computer technician
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    Its confused the hell out of me! :D
     
  6. BGonaSTICK

    BGonaSTICK Dodgy Geezer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    9,036
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brighton
    It indicates to me very strongly that it's exactly what I suggested - an internal stack of three switches.

    An uncommitted switch (logically closest to the receiver) which can either be in position A or B. On each of those two ports is a further standard 4-way DiSEqC switch - AKA committed switch giving a 2 x 4 = 8 configuration.

    All you then need is a receiver which can not only say 'use committed port A, B, C or D' - which is what any DiSEqC V1.1 receiver will do - but to be able to say:

    Use uncommitted port A, wait until it's switched, and then issue the standard use committed port A, B, C or D to command the standard switch beyond the uncommitted one.

    Most receivers don't have that capability. You basically need to stack the commands to match the stacked switch arrangement, a bit like points on a railway track.

    Goddit?

    This is all a heap of crap in my opinion, because DiSEqC wasn't designed to work this way originally.

    As I understand it, every functional DiSEqC component connected between the receiver's output and the various LNBs not only has an assigned 'type' (motor, switch etc.) but also a unique identifier, a bit like an IP address or MAC address if you like.

    Then you could just address each component individually and send it a command.

    Oi, motor 2! Get your arse over to 19.2E!

    Or

    Switch 4! We'll have you on Hotbird please!

    Every component not specifically addressed would just ignore the command.

    That's my interpretation, having read the DiSEqC standard. The standard itself sucks too BTW. A real rush-job by the look of it, and the worst part being that hardware manufacturers just adopt the bit that concerns them with little or no regard for compatibility with anything else!

    I'm not one for bureaucracy, but strict enforcement of such a standard (once it was re-written properly, of course) would do the satellite-tweaking public a massive favour.

    IMO, within 10 years none of this will matter, because events will overtake this technology, and most of our satellite TV will come via IP or its replacement. Still partly over satellite, but dressed in different clothes.

    I think that's why nobody gives a shit. Dead man walking and all that.

    Sorry, did you ask a question?!?! :p :p :p
     
  7. nanochickin

    nanochickin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,025
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nah don't work with a TMS 1500 CI+ :mad:
     
  8. BGonaSTICK

    BGonaSTICK Dodgy Geezer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    9,036
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brighton
    I didn't think so :(

    When you get your Dreambox, you would set it up on the following screen.
     
  9. Analoguesat

    Analoguesat manic midlander retired mod

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    9,464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    badly paid school computer technician
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    "Temporary" repair - Ive shoved a 4 foot long plank under the mount which has pushed it up level again! :yahoo:
     

Share This Page