Complete novice- need help setting up Starview HD combo

Discussion in 'Digital TV' started by james2428, Sep 1, 2010.

1. james2428

james2428 Member

Ok, bare with me please as i'm kinda stupid when it comes to this stuff.

I had an old starview box for years, worked a gem. It went off the other day and I understand there are no fixes for this, so I have purchased the Starview HD Combo box as I heard good things about it and it would be great to get the HD.

I've connected all the wires like the original starview but when I search for cable channels i'm not recieving any??? The signal is at about 85%... I've connected the cable wire into the cable input and the hd wire and power cable, just like the old starview, but nothing??

I then hooked up my old sky satelitte dish to it, I recieved a signal and found 700 channels under Astra 2A/2D but all the sky movies/sports etc are all scrambled?

I mainly want this for cable so the satelitte part isn't the main thing as I am getting the dish took down next week.

I'd appreciate any help, thanks.:righton:

2. reiss

reiss Large Member

Have you loaded the latest firmware onto the box?
    Most areas have been hit with Nagra3 so the only way to get your HD combo to work is by connecting it to a router.
    You'll need the file GrooveRider_HD_Combo_+_0128.uad & Carling+_0712.UAD files.
    I've just set up a friends HD combo and it's working fine.

3. james2428

james2428 Member

Thanks, I'll try that now!

4. james2428

james2428 Member

I've been looking around for it... where can I download the files?

5. Danielle

Danielle Well-Known Member

Did you bother to read the stickys?

6. reiss

reiss Large Member

easiest way to keep up to date - google search bigmaq toolbar, it's usually the first result.
    Install it, and click on files and fixes, then browse to your box. That's where most people will get them from.

7. james2428

james2428 Member

I've tried downloading and installing the following file: