How do i chip a virgin media cable box?!

Discussion in 'Digital TV' started by 1ce, Dec 9, 2007.

  1. 1ce

    1ce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone know how its done? I'm getting virgin media tv in this week sometime and i know someone that can get it chipped for me so i can get all the channels at no extra cost, sky sports sky movies etc...problem is it will cost £120 and can't afford that at the moment so would like to know how its done so i can attempt it myself..I'm in the U.K.

    ****edit ****

    do i even need to get virgin media t.v to get all the channels on my t.v as i have their broadband service, the connection in the wall is still the old telewest one though..is there not any equipment i could buy to let me get all these channels? please help someone
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2007
  2. redfox69

    redfox69 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi i dont know if its true maybe someone else can back me up as long as you have their broadband going into your house you can split the cable with a splitter and use a eurovox reciever thats what ive been told as my neice did it that way and she said no problems
     
  3. 1ce

    1ce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    ah ok.. problem is i would have no idea how to split the cable or anythin dont know where to start and cant find any step by step tutorials on this..where can i buy a eurovox reciever?
     
  4. redfox69

    redfox69 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi again if your not getting their tv package and your just getting broadband from them you just get a splitter and put a conection on each end one to your broadband and one on to a eurovox reciever you can buy them on fleabay or see the link for them on here i put an extra eurovox in my daughters room by puting a splitter on my broadband modem then the extra cable into my daughters room and it works a treat i have got 3 eurovoxes in my house and ive got no probs maybe someone can clarify what im saying to you cheers
     
  5. nanochickin

    nanochickin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,025
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds about right. The only problem that can occur is if you put to many splitters on that may introduce excessive noise back on to the network which in therory can be picked up if an engineer is working in one of the roadside cabs :shocked:

    Mind you though its probably unlikely any of the engineers would click unless they were specifically looking for the cause :lol:

    :cheers:

    Nano
     
  6. 1ce

    1ce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    oik so whats a splitter and how do i get 1? and also there is no where i can connect the splitter to in the jack thats in the wall its only got a connction for the broadband wire on it
     
  7. redfox69

    redfox69 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    look on fleabay or if you have a B&Q OR MAPLINS in your area you can buy them there or if you see a virgin media van or similar they might give you one or a satelite installer once you have the splitter you make up a small patch lead from your wall to the splitter and put your broadband modem on one side of the splitter and another cable on the other side into your eurovox and away you go thats the easy way and best way ive done it
    ps where abouts are you
     
  8. ronster

    ronster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Here
    this is what you want m8
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2008
  9. 1ce

    1ce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok cheers for that ronster..im in scotland, so how likely would it be that i will be able to receive cable tv with all the channels skysports skymovies etc through the eurovox box?dont want to be spending £125 if it aint gonna work, does it take up any extra bandwidth by watching tv and using net at same time? are thyere any places that u recommend buying one from as i dont like using ebay, and do i need to manually configure anything on the box once i get it in order to receive the channels?
     
  10. redfox69

    redfox69 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi again ice it doesnt upset your band width and theres not much you need to do and you will get all channels if you had any probs i would even install it for you but it depends where in scotland you were as im in the glasgow area so it wouldnt be a prob for me to get you up and running and i know where to obtain them in the area but as i said earlier in my replies there is someone selling them in here lookabove where your posts are and youll see the link for them if you cant wait let me know and i will get you one local in glasgow area they are abit dearer but there nearer home
    hope this helps
     
  11. 1ce

    1ce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok..well I am in Larkhall (next to Hamilton) Which Eurovox should I get I'd want to get the best and newest 1 i think, but i c there are different types..I mean is the Eurovox the best?? as i c there is starview and other ones too...I would like to get 1 as soon as possible wanna watch the rangers qualify on wednesday night :rudeboy:...If u can sort us out with one, how much u get them 4?

    I had a look at this site digital-receiver.co.uk but which one do i get and would i need to hook an aerial up to it..as the outside aerial ive got is a crap picture also what is the picture quality like on this does it go by how fast the broadband connection is?
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2007
  12. raylfc

    raylfc Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    buy a euro vox
     
  13. jonathan399

    jonathan399 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    buy a eurovox ice. they seem to have the most back-up support and popularity. i got mine off lincsat....look for lincsats nick knacks on the forum...£115 delivered i think it was. Dead easy to set-up and get watching. you don't need to plug an aerial into it. just the coax cable from your v1rgin m3dia connection on the wall. you get all your channels through that..cracking piece of kit...looks pretty smart under the tv too...better than a subbed box!
     
  14. dizzydondon

    dizzydondon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    im new to this sort of thing so im not sure if im putting this in the right place, but here goes. ive had a chipped cable box for a number of years and recently got another for me and one for a friend, they both work fine at my home but when my friend took hers home it doesnt work at hers, why could this be does any one no, could it be becouse she lives in a different region than me. how do i get around this problem
     
  15. ronster

    ronster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Here
    1.does your friend have a live cable connection?
    2.does she live in a different area with a possible different net id
     
  16. dizzydondon

    dizzydondon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi, she has a live connection but dont no bout net id, whats this and how would i check, would this be something to do with when it was getting chipped. could you explain what the net id is and how this works thank you
     
  17. ronster

    ronster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Here
  18. dugthethug

    dugthethug New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    starveiw 2 box

    hiya ronster , a jist joined the nite, av got virgin package for b,band and ma tv, a was thinkin about buying a starveiw box 2 , ? i have a splitter on the wall which one goes to my pc and one goes to my tv , how do i install the starveiw box? do i get another splitter ? and add it to any of the two ,? no got a clue m8. am in fife cheers,
    would a get free fitbaw ,? a pay for setanta, and other channels
     
  19. ronster

    ronster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Here
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2008
  20. dizzydondon

    dizzydondon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    RONSTER hi thank you for your help, ive checked my net id but hers isnt listed, how can the net id be changed to her area id, will it need to go back to who chipped it to change the id over? the box that is chipped now, she had in the area where she lives when she was subscribing, so i would have thort that it should be still the same or is it possible that the person who chipped it changed it to the net id where we are!!!!!!
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2007

Share This Page