Installing your own Freesat satellite dish and save £80.

Discussion in 'Satellite TV' started by Robbo, Apr 26, 2008.

  1. Robbo

    Robbo Satellite mad

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    6,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Electronics engineer and satellite installer
    Location:
    Kent
    As we are on the brink of the Launch of the new Freesat satellite service, I just thought I let all the newbies out there know that installing your own dish for freesat is possible for most people to do themselves.

    A hammer drill, and a few other bits and bobs is all you need, no specialist tools are required.

    Of course, if you are an ex-sky customer, you are already sorted, just connect up to th eexisting dish and away you go.

    If anyone wants to add some tips to this thread on how to set up a dish for 28E, please feel free.

    If anyone needs some help, please post and someone will come along and give you a hand.

    Robbo:smile:
     
  2. raindancerob

    raindancerob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    i know £80 for installing a mini dish what a joke.
     
  3. bigtee

    bigtee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    It seems that installation price includes dish and fixings; if so, it is not a bad price!
     
  4. Robbo

    Robbo Satellite mad

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    6,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Electronics engineer and satellite installer
    Location:
    Kent
    If you buy the dish and cable yourself it would cost around £25, maybe cheaper.Ebay have many listings for Sky dishes.:righton:
     
  5. raindancerob

    raindancerob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    i paid £20 for mine including postage.
     
  6. jamiejamie230

    jamiejamie230 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    i recently put a digi dish up on my house, ive got a fta card but am unsure about what exactly freesat is, i get free channels already, is there a beter satalite or something. more channels maybe, ive not a clue.

    any advice is appreciated.

    jay
     
  7. bigtee

    bigtee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    If you mean you have a Sky FTV card then, in simple terms, the new freesat service will consist of the same (or close) channels that you are receiving from the "Sky" satellite which is at 28e. Ordinarily therefore you do not need the new freesat; if you do want it, all you do is buy an appropriate receiver to replace your Sky receiver..

    The new freesat is a BBC/ITV venture intended to bring free digital TV particularly to people who currently do not have digital TV (satellite or Freeview) especially as digital switch-over is imminent.

    Reasons why persons who already have "Sky" may want to choose freesat include:

    1. No contract - as there is no need to subscribe to anything.
    2. The EPG will not include channels you cannot watch unless you subscribe.
    3. If you are into HD, you will get access to some free HD channells without needing to pay a subscription
    4. If you buy an appropriate receiver (PVR) you will be able to record programmes free without paying a subscription

    etc etc
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2008
  8. cauliflower69

    cauliflower69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    £80 isn't that bad to install a mini dish especially if it includes the dish. You have to think about the costs that are involved. Diesel, Dish, Fixings, Cable, connectors and insurance etc.

    If it was an install that was thrown up over the window of the front room i can understand but not if the person takes there time and does the job properly.
     
  9. madrat

    madrat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,310
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    £80 is a lot cheaper that the cost of having an aerial fitted for freeview
     
  10. Robbo

    Robbo Satellite mad

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    6,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Electronics engineer and satellite installer
    Location:
    Kent
    Why pay £80 when you can pay £20?, the saving could be used towards upgrading the box to HD.:smile:
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2008
  11. madrat

    madrat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,310
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Oh I totally agree, I just meant that once again going down the satellite route is so much cheaper than the terrestrial option:lol:
     
  12. merlodlliw

    merlodlliw FTA only,sky free home

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    H&S advisor to Charities,semi retired,busier than
    Location:
    bwlchgwyn, 1375 Ft,highest village in Wales,Wrexha
    excellent point.


    Bob
     
  13. gazza82

    gazza82 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would I be able to re-use the existing 75ohm cable, or would I need to rewire with the thicker cable that's around now?

    It's just my existing TV aerial cable is inside the walls and I hate the "drill-through-the-wall" method employed by Sky, NTL, etc .... I might be able to pull it back through with a line or the new thicker cable attached, etc.

    Getting the actual dish installed would be fairly easy due to the style of house I live in. I upgraded my own terrestrial aerial myself a few years ago for freeview. But I'm in one of those fringe areas for Freeview where the picture can be useless depending upon the weather, etc.
     
  14. madrat

    madrat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,310
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    if the dish isn't to far away you might get away with it.
     
  15. Robbo

    Robbo Satellite mad

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    6,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Electronics engineer and satellite installer
    Location:
    Kent
    When Sky installed my system, they actually used ordinary TV cable, about 8 to 10m of it. It worked of sorts, but I kept getting picture break-up on certain channels.

    Try it and see, but be prepared to be disappointed.
     
  16. kenny1234

    kenny1234 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    TV aerial and satellite installer
    Location:
    Scunthorpe
    £80 isnt that bad for a profesional instillation, i mean the companys got to allocate the time,travel,supply equipment and tools and do the job with knowledge and skill they have, and you ll get a warrenty.

    Yes you can do it yourself on the cheap and it ll prob work just as well, but when youve spent the time buying the dish, cable clips connectors sat beeper and sorted some ladders and all the tools and then allocated your own time to do the job £80 doesnt seem to bad especially if working at height.

    I m quite practical if my car breaks down i can fix it but i always weigh up if its quicker and easier to go to a garage even if its slightly more money thats the route i take.
    :righton:
     
  17. Robbo

    Robbo Satellite mad

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    6,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Electronics engineer and satellite installer
    Location:
    Kent
    Yep, I agree £80 isn't too bad. And if you can't be @rsed to to DIY get someone in, fair enough.:lol:
     
  18. merlodlliw

    merlodlliw FTA only,sky free home

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    H&S advisor to Charities,semi retired,busier than
    Location:
    bwlchgwyn, 1375 Ft,highest village in Wales,Wrexha
    Not as bad as BT, change their own main box in the house,then charge
    £223 for it, cost of box £3. This occured to a neighbour next door,after a storm, he challenged the cost, then asked to see the old box,alledged
    damaged, cost withdrawn. The damage was the main outside line spiked.

    It appears BTs openreach CHRAGE FOR EVERYTHING, engineers are on target figures, one very honest one told me, they are in structed to change the main box,wether or not its blown, then they can charge
    £223 for the call out, greedy bastards. This applies to all storm damage and everything else. Remember the call out is £189 plus vat at 17 .5%


    Bob
     
  19. cawe

    cawe New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello

    So Freesat… I have some questions… any help appreciated.

    I already have sky+ and get the ‘entertainment’ package, I would like the HD channels but really do not want to pay an additional £10 pcm for the 6 channels included in the package. I thought Free sat would make a nice addition to my TV viewing.

    My questions are:

    • Is it worth getting the additional freesat box if I already have sky?
    • Could I use my existing sky dish and add a cable to it (my self) that would then lead to the freesat?

    Thanks

    Chris
     
  20. Robbo

    Robbo Satellite mad

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    6,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Electronics engineer and satellite installer
    Location:
    Kent
    You will get BBC HD, ITV HD, Luxe TV HD extra, that is all.

    ITV HD is very part time.



    Yes, you could add a couple of extra cables, probably.

    You should have a quad LND, with a couple of spare outputs.
     

Share This Page