zgemma star 2s

Discussion in 'Satellite TV' started by alanmez, Jun 15, 2017.

  1. alanmez

    alanmez Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    A mate of mine has a zgemma star 2s which has stopped working with Sly. Will he need to put a new flash on it before it will work with a VM line ?
     
  2. crossbones

    crossbones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,060
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    S.Wales
    Channels now being encrypted using icam. Think you can say goodbye to CS for now.
     
  3. alanmez

    alanmez Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Cable still working though.
     
  4. jimbo

    jimbo Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,958
    Likes Received:
    26
    I think that's a satellite box could be wrong if it is it's no good for cable.
     
  5. alanmez

    alanmez Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ok thanks, but what about the zgemma h2 boxes ? would they need a new type of flash to now work with cable after being used for Sly ?
     
  6. lincsat

    lincsat Super-Dooper Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5,332
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    In front of the PC
    The 2S has 2x Sat tuners. You may be able to use a USB cable tuner but for the price, you can almost buy a new box with Cable tuners built-in. You can use a 2S with IPTV, there are quite a few servers available, just ask them for a dreambox userbouquet rather than a M3U file.
     
    alanmez likes this.
  7. alanmez

    alanmez Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks lincsat for the info, but what about the zgemma h2 boxes ?, after being used for Sly, will they need a different type of flash or should they work straight away with a cable line ?
     
  8. lincsat

    lincsat Super-Dooper Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5,332
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    In front of the PC
    The 1H and 2H are combo boxes. The H.2S is a Sat only box, the H.2H is a combo. The H3.2TC and H5.2TC have 2x Cable and 1x Sat tuner.
     
  9. alanmez

    alanmez Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    But will the combo boxes that have been used for Sly need any other firmware / software / flashing to work with a VM cable line ?
     
  10. lincsat

    lincsat Super-Dooper Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5,332
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    In front of the PC
    The firmware is for a combo box, why would you need to change it. You may have to change the configuration if the box was setup for Satellite only. All the combo boxes I supply can easily be changed from Sat only to Cable only to combo and back quite easily with the ViX image, I would expect other images to be just as easy.
     
  11. alanmez

    alanmez Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    I had no idea, thanks for your reply.
     

Share This Page