Babelgum announces Film Festival winners

April 29, 2009

Babelgum announces Film Festival winners
Mobile and web TV service Babelgum this week announced the winners of the Babelgum Online Film Festival 2009.

Honorary judge Spike Lee chose five winners from 651 entries in the categories of Genius, Animation, Short Film, Documentary, and Mini Masterpiece.

A cash prizes of €20,000 was given to the winner in each category.

Four other winners were chosen by the Film Festival Jury in the categories of Short Film, Animation, Documentary, and Mini Masterpiece.

Spike Lee, judge and honorary chairman of the Film Festival Jury, said: “I was amazed at the quality of the films and happy to see the mission of the festival fulfilled.”

Karol Martesko-Fenster, general manager of Babelgum’s films division, said: “I am hopeful that Babelgum’s support of emerging talent along with our robust distribution platforms will continue to encourage the next generation of filmmaking talent on the horizon.”

The winning films were:

  • BAB AL SAMAH by Francesco Sperandeo (Italy), Looking for Genius Award – €20,000
  • MARADONA BABY by Nino Sabella (Italy), Spike Lee Award / Short Film – €20,000
  • HEY ANIMATION MUSIC VIDEO by Guy Ben Shetrit (Israel), Spike Lee Award / Animation – €20,000
  • THE LADIES by Christina Voros (United States), Spike Lee Award / Documentary – €20,000
  • I HAD A DREAM I WENT TO CONEY ISLAND by Sherwin Akbarzadeh (Iran), Spike Lee Award / Mini Masterpiece – €20,000
  • BAB AL SAMAH by Francesco Sperandeo (Italy), Professional Jury Award / Short Film
  • MR. HAPPY by Michael Patrick O’Hara (Canada), Professional Jury Award / Animation
  • GLUE by Joseph Cottrell-Boyce (United Kingdom), Professional Jury Award / Documentary
  • DECKLIN AND THE DARKNESS by Lance Dumais (United States), Professional Jury Award / Mini Masterpiece


    Post a comment

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Visited 766 times, 1 so far today