Facebook deactivation email scam warning


June 8, 2010

As there has been a lot of activity with Facebook users wanting to delete their accounts over privacy concerns, there is a warning that criminals may be using this as a way to fool users into thinking that their account is about to be deleted.

According to security experts Sunbelt Software, there is an email doing the rounds which appears to come from Facebook, telling the recipient that their Facebook account has been deactivated at their request.

This of course could cause a Facebook user to panic and click on the link to enter their details.

Luckily, so far this appears to be spam rather than a phishing scam, because the link takes the user to a site that is selling certain pharmaceuticals.






 

Post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Visited 3250 times, 1 so far today