Golden Joystick Awards - Vote Now!

Black Ops might be the best selling game ever, but will it scoop the ultimate Golden Joystick?
Matthew Turner
Matthew Turner -

Call of Duty Black Ops

The Golden Joystick Awards are upon us and gamers still have the chance to vote for their favourite games of 2011.

Since voting began on August 1st, over 180,000 people worldwide have chosen their favourites from this year’s various categories.

Voting is still available on the official GJA website, and the winners will be announced at an award ceremony on October 21st.

For the first time, the 2011 awards are split into a number of genre-based categories – and nominated by a panel of gaming editors.

Best Shooter is the first category to vote in on the Golden Joystick site, and includes obvious titles such as Call of Duty: Black Ops, Halo Reach and Crysis 2.

Best Action/Adventure is also present and gamers have options such as the popular Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood, Dead Rising 2 and LA Noire.

Best RPG includes the 3DS remake of the classic Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, whereas Best Fighting game encompasses the likes of Mortal Kombat and Fight Night Champion.

The recently released Dirt 3 is present in the Best Racer category whilst Best Sports will prove a tough one to call with titles including Football Manager 11, FIFA 11 and Pro Evo 11.

The most prestigious award, however, is the Ultimate Game of the Year – which will see a tense battle between a wide range of critically and fan acclaimed gaming titles.

Last year’s overall winner was Mass Effect 2, which beat out Modern Warfare 2 into second place. Can Black Ops take this year’s title, or will it be pinched from under Call of Duty’s nose once again?

Post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Visited 767 times, 3 so far today