Technology Forums: FTA, Satellite, Cable, Home Media, Hardware & Computers
|  Home   |  Forums   |  News   |  Blog   |  

Go Back   Techwatch: Satellite TV forums, FTA, Cable, Hardware, & Tech forums > Satellite Help > Satellite for Beginners

Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Satellite for Beginners Newbie to satellite? Don't be scared... you're in the right place

Old 02-06-08, 06:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
mingskickassdad

Default am i dreaming ???

hi guys. i've been around cable forums. for tv and internet for years but i'm an absolute newbie with sky.

anyways i'm in a dream position in that my boss, very well off guy has offered to pay for everything needed to setup a sky system that can be shared buy all the members of our demolition team. and his family i suspect lol. from what i've read so far it seems possible through a card share system "he's willing to pay for all channels on one box".
is this right???????????
is it possible to patch something like a technomate tm 5200 so as it connects to net and then sync's with others in group to share card details.???????????
will i also pickup other channels like others with use of motorised dishes????
hope this is right guys. what a great new hobby

look forward to hearing comments and advise :-)
mingskickassdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-08, 06:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
robbo71
Super Moderator

Default Re: am i dreaming ???

Hi,
A Technomate TM5400 is not the best box for connecting to the internet as it does't have a network port and has to be connected to a PC via a serial lead.

A Linux box such as a Dreambox on the other hand is more suitable for being permanently connected to the internet. I know no further details as I have a TM1000.

The TM5400 is an easy to use receiver and is however suitable for a basic motorised setup and reception from satellites all over Europe and beyond. A setup with a 1m dish and a Diseqc motor would not be too difficult to achieve.

Robbo