1.1m dish

Discussion in 'Satellite TV' started by madrat, Mar 12, 2018.

  1. madrat

    madrat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    The LNB arm on my 60cm dish used for Sky is starting to go a bit rotten, now I just happen to have an 110cm dish in the shed doing nothing, I know its a bit of overkill for Sky but is it likely to cause any problems?
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2018
    martin-f likes this.
  2. martin-f

    martin-f Well-Known Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,570
    Likes Received:
    307
    Hi madrat it will be fine, ive sometimes pointed bigger dishes at 28E without issues.
     
  3. madrat

    madrat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Great, might try additional LNBs and see what I can get.
     
    martin-f likes this.
  4. martin-f

    martin-f Well-Known Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,570
    Likes Received:
    307
    You can pick a motor up quite cheap madrat you will pick lots of channels up on a 1.1 :), also plenty of sport feeds turn up if sports is your thing.
     
  5. madrat

    madrat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Narr not bothered about sport, a motor was what this dish was originally purchased for then Nagra 3 was released and things went dark so never bothered. Want the dish on 28E permanently
     
    martin-f likes this.
  6. martin-f

    martin-f Well-Known Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,570
    Likes Received:
    307
    Depending on what you want to watch with a second LNB if its just for something to do its worth pointing it at 23.5E lots of feeds turn up there so you wont be sat looking at the same channels when you scan.
     
    madrat likes this.
  7. purplemarina

    purplemarina Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    6
    i have been using a cm 1.2m dish without any problem for years now.
     
    madrat and martin-f like this.
  8. lincsat

    lincsat Super-Dooper Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5,451
    Likes Received:
    133
    Location:
    In front of the PC
    You can use a 10m+ dish if you like and can find somewhere to mount it. I had a 1m pointing at 28e for Years - it did minimize the rain fade
     
    madrat and martin-f like this.
  9. reddiesel

    reddiesel Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,477
    Likes Received:
    72
    Location:
    Beds
    I have a 1.2 mostly used on 28e .
     
    madrat and martin-f like this.

Share This Page