Freesat box?

Discussion in 'Satellite TV' started by madrat, Dec 31, 2017.

  1. madrat

    madrat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Hi,

    Not been on here for ages, but need some advice. Whats happened to all the freesat box makers? there only seams to be Humax, what's happened to all the others? And by that I mean the cheap ones.
     
    martin-f likes this.
  2. cactikid

    cactikid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    190
    not much demand as other boxes could do more and flooded the markets everywhere and can use multisats,most of the boxes still out can be used for freesat or users that sold theirs and moved to cable or itv services.
     
    martin-f likes this.
  3. martin-f

    martin-f Well-Known Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,624
    Likes Received:
    324
  4. cactikid

    cactikid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    190
    blimey cheap as chips and you bought 4 lol
     
    martin-f likes this.
  5. martin-f

    martin-f Well-Known Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,624
    Likes Received:
    324
    They work well for feed hunting cactikid don't miss anything and very quick blind scan linked with the TBS 5925 card its a good setup for feedhunting, last time I had a good box it packed up after a while and I couldn't get another so I bought a few spares this time, if the gtc works well ill buy another as a backup.
     
    cactikid likes this.
  6. cactikid

    cactikid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    190
    the only feed hunting i did was to the chippy,i need to get my motorised back working .
     
    martin-f likes this.
  7. martin-f

    martin-f Well-Known Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,624
    Likes Received:
    324
    Lol :D, get it set back up you can help me and pontiend out in the feed section :).
     
  8. madrat

    madrat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Leicestershire
  9. martin-f

    martin-f Well-Known Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,624
    Likes Received:
    324
    Make your own xml file and load it to the box.
     
  10. madrat

    madrat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Oh please. :(:(:(:(:eek:
     
    martin-f likes this.
  11. martin-f

    martin-f Well-Known Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,624
    Likes Received:
    324
  12. madrat

    madrat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    That will fit in the caravan lol
     
    martin-f likes this.
  13. martin-f

    martin-f Well-Known Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,624
    Likes Received:
    324
    Lol buy a house to go with it :), I bet its a bit cold living in a caravan at this time of the year :D
     
  14. madrat

    madrat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Our van has central heating :D Will look into loading my own epg
     
    martin-f likes this.
  15. martin-f

    martin-f Well-Known Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,624
    Likes Received:
    324
    Good luck with it madrat, I will be doing some tests on the freesat gtc in the coming weeks I will report back as and when I can, it could turn out to be a good all rounder.
     
  16. madrat

    madrat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    My own epg won't work, I don't take computer with me so won't have access to it, need one that's on the receiver.
     
    martin-f likes this.
  17. martin-f

    martin-f Well-Known Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,624
    Likes Received:
    324
    I'm quite sure the V7 has epg auto update ill check in the coming days when I set things back up and get back to you.
     
  18. martin-f

    martin-f Well-Known Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,624
    Likes Received:
    324
  19. lincsat

    lincsat Super-Dooper Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    147
    Location:
    In front of the PC
    Difficult to tell from the description if it is an official Freeview/Freesat. It appears to not pay them the licence but does appear to get the official channel numbers and EPG. Most UK sold TV sets will have official Freeview and some official Freesat numbering and EPG.

    Almost all FTA Sat boxes can tune the Freesat channels but many will not sort the channels following the official numbering or get the full EPG
     
    martin-f likes this.
  20. martin-f

    martin-f Well-Known Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,624
    Likes Received:
    324
    Going on this Ian it should be ok.

    FULL HD COMBO Freeview HD& FreeSat Satellite Receiver HD RECORDER TV Set Top Box | eBay
    PLEASE BE AWARE : Most of the other seller's 7 Day EPG only shows the 1st, two Program information only "NOW&NEXT" ,and Those boxes have "GARBAGE CHARACTERS" That means is "faulty Software" and you will not able to "READ or RECORD" any program you wish.
     

Share This Page